WhistlePig Farmstock 001: #NeverAgain

Because I was so disappointed by this WhistlePig product, I am going to do this review in short form.  It’s not worth going into all the details because I will never try it again.

Crop 001
86 Proof
Blend of three ryes, details on back of bottle
Light straw color

Medicinal nose, some rock candy, pine needles, and a touch of citrus.

The mouthfeel is exceptionally disappointing, thin, more heat than expected for an 86 Proof Rye. It’s bitter, medicinal and dries the mouth out. Has notes of young malt as well which I just hate. This is by far the worst WhistlePig product I’ve ever tasted.

I love their Boss Hog… not sure if I agree with San Francisco Spirits that it’s the best whiskey of the year, but then again, I didn’t actually get to try that specific barrel. Given how expensive this is, I’m giving it an even worse score. I’m very worried about their ability to produce quality products once their Canadian stock runs out. Stick to their sources whiskies for now and avoid Farmstock like the plague! 64/100

Leave a Reply

