Jack Rose Trip Part 1: JPS Rye 25yr

I made my way down to Jack Rose recently with some friends and had the great opportunity to meet with Bill Thomas.  If you haven’t been to Jack Rose, please do yourself a favor and get down there and get drunk.  It’s a wonderful place for those who love whiskey, especially Bourbon.  With almost 3,000 open bottles, it’s the place to try all those unicorns you can’t find or afford to get a bottle on your own.  Over the next few weeks I will be posting quick reviews of all the bourbons I tried… enjoy!

First up…. Jefferson’s Presidential Select 25yr Rye batch 1 86 proof: Initial impressions are that it looks far too light to be 25yrs old. Nice candy nose, but doesn’t smell 25yrs old, a touch of candy corn and rock candy.  The taste also is very hard to believe this is 25yrs old, has a spicy fresh taste to it like a much younger rye.  Upon further review of the bottle, I now know why this doesn’t feel/look/smell or taste like a 25 year old rye… because it’s Canadian!  It says “North American Rye” which you would never say, unless it’s Canada.  I bet this is Alberta Distillery, but I don’t know for sure.  I will say this, this is way better than CC20 or any of the other old ones I’ve had from Canada.  25yrs old, and not over oaked because of the used barrels; very nice and enjoyable.  93/100

 

 

Leave a Reply

