Lock Stock & Barrel 16yr Straight Rye Whiskey

I tried the Lock Stock & Barrel 13yr rye last year at a bar and really liked it.  I didn’t review it, but it was definitely a 90+ rating.  When I saw this on the shelf, three more years of age, I jumped on it.  I did some online due diligence and even though this has been aged in new charred oak American barrels (according the the bottle), it apparently is a sourced Canadian whiskey of 100% rye grain mash bill.  107 proof.

The color is an extremely inviting golden amber shimmering whiskey.

There is a sweetness on the nose, crushed rock candy, necco wafers, apple tart, and vanilla.  The nose is not particularly strong though, as I really had to put my nose in there to get the aromas.

The palate is good, medium tannins but low on the coating oils.  The flavors are ok, but not particularly strong and the finish is on the weaker side.

Although I did not give the 13yr a proper review, from what I remember, I enjoyed that one quite a bit better.  For the $150 MSRP, this one is not one I can recommend.  I always compare ryes to Pikesville and I’d much rather have three of those than one of these.  85/100.

img_0367

One thought on “Lock Stock & Barrel 16yr Straight Rye Whiskey

Leave a Reply

