3yr Rye Distilled, Aged & Bottled by The Willett Distillery

I’ve been drinking a lot of really great sourced whiskey from Willett over the past several years.  Their products contain some of the best juice in the world and bottled it at cask strength–just the way I like it.  My hope is that Drew & Co have taken the same skills in sourcing, blending and bottling into the distilling world for their rye.  It’s in the same beautiful Willett Family Estate bottle we all love, green capsule for the rye.

This bottle is bottled at 112.6 proof.

Medium light amber color.

Sweet candy nose, a bit hot with menthol but not overwhelming.  Cotton candy, rock candy, and a touch of peppermint are the stronger notes, with a hint of apples and cedar on the back.

The initial taste is ok, but not as good as I expected.  Some of the notes on the nose come through in the palate, but the mouthfeel is thin and the follow through lacks good flavor, only bitterness and heat.  The only enjoyment in this dram is the very first moment, because after that, it all goes away.

This rye is very disappointing.  For all the amazing products I’ve had from Willett, this is the worst one so far.  Maybe it’s because it’s only three years old?  I don’t know… I’ve had some very good 3yr ryes before and ones that I knew had a lot of potential, but I don’t know about this one.  I’m hoping this might have been a one-off occurence, but I won’t be trying any young Willett products for a while…  if anyone wants a sample, I’m happy to send one.  82/100.

img_9819

Leave a Reply

