ETL for $200?? Boycott these Stores

My wife and I were Long Island bound last weekend to attend one of her college friend’s wedding. We negotiated a couple things: I would drive both ways, but I would be able to stop at as many liquor stores in between the wedding (2:30pm) and the reception (6pm)–the multiple liquor store stops has caused tension in our relationship so doing it with her was not an easy ask, see my previous hunting related blog (https://newbourbondrinker.wordpress.com/2015/12/14/whiskey-hunting-a-passion-or-obsession/). I had some success, acquiring Hibiki 17, 21 and some Mitcher’s 10 Bourbon at the right prices; it’s always fun to find some new hunting grounds. However, I also found two stores that should be boycotted by everyone.

Pavilion Wine & Spirits: Plainview Shopping Center 361 S Oyster Bay Rd, Plainview, NY 11803  **BOYCOTT**

This store was a huge tease: multiple Family Van Winkle 12s, George T. Stagg 2015, Yamazaki Sherry Cask, Michter’s 20, and more… on the glass door it said to ask for the manager… enter Tim… Tim is arrogant, not friendly and a liar. I asked him about the Pappy 12, instead of giving me a price, he picks up his phone, goes on wine-searcher and tells me it’s $900. Are you kidding me? I told him I’d be happy to sell him mine for half that. We go through the same routine for GTS: $800, Yamazaki Sherry Cask 2016: 3.5k, M20: 1.5k. These prices are so far above secondary prices it’s silly, but what’s more offensive is that he completely lied to me. He says he sells online and they fly off the shelves at these prices–he doesn’t even have price tags on them so how does he know??? In addition, if it were true, how does he still have 8 bottles of pappy 12?  In New York State liquor stores need to buy from distributors, so how exactly does he has 8 bottles?  Maybe he’s never sold one? The rest of the store was mediocre, nothing worth buying, so I would never go there again, plus, I really don’t like being lied to by the manager.

Wine Post & Spirits: 510 Jericho Turnpike, Syosset, NY 11791  **BOYCOTT**

A picture says a thousand words…. ETL $200, W.L. Weller Special Reserve $49.99, ECBP 128p $139.99. I asked the manager if he was flexible on any of these, and he obnoxiously said and recommended I look in the other section “for bourbons more in my budget.”  Are you serious??  He also told me that ETL is “liquid gold” and is a bargain at any price. This guy needs to have his head checked, but if anyone actually spends $200 on a ELT, those are the heads that will really need to be examined. The store has a decent selection of wine and other items, but literally everything is 10-200% overpriced. Another store to put on the blacklist.

The wedding was fun, I managed to find a few items that I didn’t have in my bunker and now we have two more stores to add to the blackball list. Share with your friends and hopefully stores like this who massively overcharge and do it with an attitude will slowly disappear.

Leave a Reply

