Booker’s 2015-06

Booker’s is usually my go to bourbon when I go to a bar in NYC because it’s usually priced around the same as its 80-90 proof brothers, yet has ~40% more booze in it. I’m always looking for the arb.

This Booker’s is the sixth and final release from 2015. It is a 6 year, 8 month and 7 day old bourbon bottled at 128.1 proof.  This one is called “Noe Secret” and has a drawing of a message in a bottle.

Booker’s always has a dark amber color and this batch is no different. It has a tint of orange in it as well.

On the nose I get Cinnamon Toast Crunch, candied apple, butterscotch candy and dried orange with cloves.  The heat is strong like most Booker’s are, but smoother than most.

The mouthfeel had a thickness to it that is very enjoyable. The cloves and dried orange are the notes that come through most on the palate. The finish is good but after a while, it turns to just heat.

I’ve never had a Booker’s that I have disliked but, aside from the 25th anniversary that I only had once at a bar, I’ve never been blown away by it; this one is no different. Enjoyable dram, I’m glad I bought it, but I won’t be stockpiling this batch in my bunker. 89/100.

 

IMG_8104

Leave a Reply

