House of Cards Paired with Thomas H Handy 2014 v 2015

I’m a huge fan of House of Cards and I’m almost done so I thought the best thing to do was to pair it with two of my current favorites in the cabinet. As you can tell from the levels, I’m almost done with these as well. I’ve been enjoying them too much to rate them yet, but I wanted to make sure to give them a fair rating before the bottles are empty.

I’m not going to spend too much time going over the history of THH as you can find this online easily, but if you are reading this blog, you probably already know… It’s the youngest of the BTAC and by far the cheapest on the secondary market. While Stagg goes for $500 or so, you can usually snag this for around $250. Yes, still expensive, but compared to the rest of the BTAC, a relative bargain–Ignore people or stores that try to sell it for $400-$500, those people are just silly.

2014: sweet honeysuckle on the nose with cloves, raisin bread, allspice and brown sugar. Even though it’s 129.2 proof, the best is all smooth and sweetness without the heat. The mouthfeel is fantastic, it’s enveloping with a greet grit. The spicy rye is so well integrated into the palate that’s it’s almost unbelievable that this is only six years old.  The finish goes on for minutes and minutes–five minutes later and you can still taste it.  This is one if the best drams I’ve ever had. 98/100.

2015: different but similar to the 2014, more heat on the nose and a little spicier. I get Girl Scout Somoas on the nose, oatmeal with honey and cinnamon sugar. The mouthfeel and grip are still very solid but this one has more heat on the throat than the prior year even though this year has a lower proof, 126.9. The finish is also long and strong focusing on the spicy and heat. It’s very good but doesn’t stand up to the prior year. 95/100.

Both of these bottles are awesome but the 2014 really stands out as one of the best of all time. I wish I could get my hands on more of them.  These bottles are great examples of age not being the most important factor in enjoying a whiskey.  I find these to be just as good as some of their 17yr brothers, but that’s just one man’s opinion.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

