Old Forester Birthday Bourbon 2015

I originally wrote this review several months ago, but resisted publishing it because I thought maybe I was wrong, or that the bourbon needed more time open to show… but I tried it again tonight and I stand by my original conclusions….

So my birthday was last week (October) and I couldn’t find this Bourbon on the shelves anywhere… But I was in a store on Sunday and they had one left in stock. Happy belated birthday to me!  OFBB 2015 is a 100 proof, 12 year whiskey from our friends at Brown-Forman, better known for Jack Daniels, but have been doing even more with their Old Forester brand recently.  Released once a year on September 2nd to celebrate the birthday of George Garvin Brown.  First released in 2002, OFBB has become one of those must have bottles for collectors.

First impressions…. This whiskey is another one of those when first opened smells of dirty mushrooms and nail polish, causing me to let it set for a while. I’m just not sure what it is sometimes that makes new bourbons require aeration, but this isn’t the first and it definitely won’t be the last.

The color is a bright Amber with orange hues.

After the glass had been sitting there for over an hour the smell changed to burnt orange, crushed almonds and wet leaves; the mushroomy smells are still lingering in the background, but fortunately the offensive smells had dissipated.

Good mouthfeel with nice integrated wood tannins. There is a sweet citrusy flavor rather than the normal spicy butterscotch. It has what I can only describe as a high acid profile like certain wines. It’s very different than I expected but not necessarily in a bad way.

I added a few drops of water and it definitely needed it. The nose is fresher and the taste is better.  It still maintains the burnt orange smell and flavor. It’s enjoyable but not my favorite.

Much like my actual birthday, this bourbon wasn’t up to the hype and fairly disappointing. It’s good, it’s just not worth the price or effort.  85/100.

image1(34)

 

Leave a Reply

