Willett Family Estate Single Barrel Bourbon 12yr #9622

I bought this bottle when I was at the Willett Distillery a couple weeks ago. They have a beautiful facility and I highly recommend everyone visit; they are distilling amazing products there. While I was there I also picked up the 11yr bottle #438 (https://newbourbondrinker.wordpress.com/2016/01/27/willett-family-estate-single-barrel-bourbon-438-holy-moley/). When I first opened the bottles, 438 blew this one out of the water, but now that it has been a couple weeks I’m coming back to it and reviewing it–I’m glad I waited because it has really evolved.

Willett bottles always look great, this one was bottled at 118.8 proof. Dark amber.

When I opened this a couple weeks ago it was a little stale and rich mushroomy like a lesser Eagle Rare 10 aroma. Now that it has had the chance to open up there are more baking spices coming through and a very mild nose.

The palate is extremely enjoyable with nice oils and grip on the tongue with an enjoyable follow through. It is a complete and complex flavored bourbon.

This isn’t as good as bottle 438, but it’s very good in its own right, especially after being opened for a couple weeks. I love these Willett single barrels and wish I didn’t have to go to the gift shop or trade for them to be able to get them. Those who live nearby are very lucky indeed!  93/100.  I’m excited to see what it will be like in another month–probably will be even better!

http://www.kentuckybourbonwhiskey.com/home.html

image1(33)

Leave a Reply

