Black Friday = Bourbon County Brand Stout

If you are a beer guy, like I am in addition to loving Bourbon, Black Friday means one thing and one thing only: The release of Bourbon County Brand Stout.

I was very lucky to get a couple cases this year, although last year I got more. They changed the bottle design from last year, which was normal beer bottle sizes. This year it’s 16.9oz, and the bottle looks amazing, but I strongly prefer the other design. When you are dealing with a 14.3% alcohol beer, that also had a ton of calories, opening up this larger size is harder to do solo.

I secured a single Rye, and will open that in a few months once it settles down–I found that the flavors for the varietals last year were overpowering initially and were better after a few months.

For $9.99 a bottle, the regular stout is probably the best beer on the market.   I try to buy as much as I can for a few reasons, but primarily because once it’s gone, it’s gone. But also because it ages very nicely and will evolve for years. It also is good trade bait for other things.

I love how dark this is when it pours out. You can smell the bourbon on the nose. Chocolate, espresso, vanilla bean, charcoal and happiness. There is a richness to the taste.  I drink this out of a snifter or a wine glass because it’s meant to be consumed slowly and evolve in the glass more like a wine than a beer. Every year this is just such an amazing drink.

To me, Black Friday is synonymous with BCBS, and the 2015 is another winner. 99/100.

 

image1(24)image2

Leave a Reply

