Quick Conversation on Glassware and a New Bar…

Don’t you hate bars that pour high end whiskey in glasses that are just not appropriate for the quality of whiskey?  I do.  Drives me nuts.  At home I have a few Glencairn glasses which I really like.  I bought them a few months ago, basically when I started this blog, and have been using them ever since.  As I said in the beginning of this blog, historically I have been a wine drinker and certainly buy into the idea of specific wine glasses for certain types of wine.  It only makes sense that whiskey should have it’s own glass.

I was recently listening to The Whiskey Topic, a very entertaining podcast by Mark Bylok and Jamie Johnson, and a new glass type was mentioned.  I logged on to Kickstarter, watched the video, and bought four of them.  The only downside is I won’t be getting them until April 2016… the idea behind the glass is that is captures the aromas of the whiskey better than other glasses, while diffusing the ethanol, all the while having the angle such that you can still see your friends while drinking.  I was sold.

Here is the link: https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/norlan/the-norlan-whisky-glass

Back to the bar thing… there is a new bar in Manhattan, Whiskey Social, in the west village that serves all it’s high end whiskey in Glencairn glasses–something I really appreciate.  Daniel is the general manager and is friendly, knowledgeable and very welcoming.  They have a cool thing where you can rent a locker (free with a bottle $250 or more), and store your bottles there for use later.  I have my locker there, and recommend that you get one while they still are left… as of last week about 70% of them were taken.  Anyone who wants to share a drink with me in NYC, just send me a note and I’m happy to share with fellow whiskey lovers.

601124970d5d492189f0ea79b4530d50_original

One thought on “Quick Conversation on Glassware and a New Bar…

Leave a Reply

