1792 Sweet Wheat, just okay… just like the rest of their products…

1792 Sweet Wheat Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey 45.6% abv

I hadn’t seen this one in the stores before so when I saw a reasonable price on bottle-spot I decided to buy it and get it shipped to me. I was not particularly happy with the last purchase of 1792, but to be fair the price was very reasonable. I took a chance on this one because of some of the positive reviews I read–although I had a feeling it was largely due to the obsession with wheated bourbons (thanks Pappy).

Medium Amber with a hint of orange

Medium heat on the nose, hint of orange peel, crushed almonds, toffee and gingersnaps.

Medium heat on the palate with a bit more spice than expected, in a good way. The orange peel and ginger definitely comes through through the tongue. The mouthfeel isn’t complex and the finish is moderate.

Overall this is an enjoyable bourbon but not one that is particularly complex or exciting. Just a solid drink. I don’t think I will be buying anymore from 1792. 85/100.IMG_7260

Leave a Reply

