Garrison Brothers Cowboy: Best 4 Year Whiskey EVER.

Garrison Brothers Cowboy Bourbon Barrel Proof Texas Straight Bourbon Whiskey. 2015 Release date, 2nd Release.

So this was one of those bottles at $200 I was hesitant to purchase given my past experience with Texas whiskey. I generally don’t love younger whiskeys and Balcones younger production has been disappointing. But given the reviews of the first release, I took a leap of faith.  However… Let me first say that I’m extremely excited that this is a barrel proof bourbon. Clocking in at 67.5%, this one packs a wallop.  Barrel proof is always the way to go, which is probably the only reason I pulled the trigger on this bottle.

The color is very dark, deep amber, like a very old whiskey…. But this is only four years in oak.

You can smell the heat but it’s not over the top, especially not for a 135 proof bourbon. You can envision caramelized popcorn when inhaling the nose.  There is a hint of ethanol in the background, but only the taste will let me know if the popcorn or ethanol is on the palate.  It’s a powerful nose, but extremely complex.

I’m blown away by how smooth this is in my mouth. For a four year corn whiskey from Texas at 135 proof, it’s like butter–the heat is there but only in the background and supports rather than detracts from the experience. In addition to the youth, there is some pretty strong wood tannins in this one, must be the Texas heat accelerating the aging process.  The sweetness of the caramel popcorn is there… the taste just continues on and on.

The more I try this the more I love it. I can’t believe how smooth and interesting this four year whiskey. My personal bias tends to be towards older whiskeys and non-100% corn whiskeys, so I’m floored by how much I love this.

I added some water to this and it brings out more youthful corn smell and taste which I don’t like. Very weird how it’s better and smoother without any water.

This is an expensive whiskey.  That’s a fact. I wish this was $50 or less and if it was I would probably give it my highest score ever and buy 50 bottles for my bunker, but it’s $200 and only 5200 bottles were released. I’m elevating this bourbon to unicorn status. This truly is one of the greats out there and easily the best four year whiskey I’ve ever tasted in my entire life.  I still can’t believe that it is this smooth at 135 proof and this young.  If this were $50, it would get a perfect score–it’s not though…  96/100

IMG_7118

3 thoughts on “Garrison Brothers Cowboy: Best 4 Year Whiskey EVER.

  1. I had some friends over last night and we cracked open a lot of new bottles. One of them was the 2015 cowboy. If I see another bottle, I am buying it. Incredibly smooth at 135. Front end of toffee, caramel, and other sweets. Finishes with a slight burn in your heart that requires another sip to douse the flame. I’m agreeing with unicorn.

    Like

  2. I just bought a bottle of this at the liquor store very near my home in Austin. 2015 Cowboy, bottle #1600. There were still two more on the shelf. I hated to leave them there but at $199 each, I’ll settle for this one. It’s a gift so I need to hide it now.

    Like

Leave a Reply

