Colonel E. H. Taylor Jr. Single Barrel Straight Kentucky Bourbon Bottled in Bond

I was up in Cape Cod for the 4th and I saw this for $60 in a liquor store so I picked it up… I’ve seen this for much more in Manhattan, so I figured why not… The canister was a cool thing, and I’m a sucker for gimmicks.  I also received bough a pair of Glencairn whiskey glasses, so I’m going to use one of those for this tasting…

Colonel E. H. Taylor Jr. Single Barrel Straight Kentucky Bourbon Bottled in Bond, so by definition it is 100 proof.  It is distilled, aged and bottled by Old Fashioned Copper Distillery in Frankfort, KY.

Beautiful medium amber color in the glass… perfect color, makes you want to tap a sip.

My first nose impression was oven baked nacho chips, salted caramel candy, but you can definitely smell the alcohol on it.  There also has a smokey camp fire essence that surrounds everything else, more scotch than bourbon-like in some ways.  I quite enjoyed the different aspects of the nose.

There is some sweetness on the palate, and the complexity is well integrated from the oak.  Medium body, happy warming burn feeling keeps this finish long and smooth.  This is quite enjoyable as neat.

After a few drops of water were added, tropical fruits jumped out of the glass, while the complexity and long finish remained.

If you can find this for $60, it’s definitely worth adding to your collection.  91/100.

IMG_6425

Leave a Reply

