Balcones Baby Blue Corn Whisky

This is my first whiskey experience from Balcones, Baby Blue Corn Whisky, barch BB14-9 bottled on 9/10/14.  This was was distilled and aged while Chip Tate was still with Balcones.  I do not know how long this was aged, but when I took a first whiff, it didn’t seem like that long, almost a white dog nose to it.  I really wanted to like it given all the accolades Balcones has received, but my first impression was poor.  With only 46% alcohol, I felt like there was too much nail polish remover on the nose.  I keep going back trying to find more than the alcohol, but I just couldn’t find it.  On the palate, it wasn’t substantially better.  It tasted more like a barrel strength white dog than an aged whiskey.  I actually did a quick side by side comparison vs the Buffalo Trace White Dog Mash #1, which is bottled at 125 proof… Given the price difference, I almost prefer the white dog, and the burn was not significantly different.  How long was this aged?  I do not know, but the one thing I do know is that it should have been left in that barrel for another few years.  Perhaps this poor review is because I’m new at this, maybe I’m missing the genius behind this bottle… or maybe it was just a waste of $60.   69/100.

IMG_6424(1)

Leave a Reply

